Week-end Update (Oct 17 – Oct 19, 2013)

This has been a rather busy weekend of painting! I have never gotten to paint before, as I was a child when we painted our house and now that I live in an apartment you can’t do much painting, so I was rather excited.  My mother and I decided to paint her room here at my grandmother’s house, since it’s been years and years … and years since it’s been re-painted. Thursday we went into town and picked up all the necessities; paint brushes, tarp, and of course paint. Nothing crazy, we stuck with white to give it that fresh clean look. Friday we got to work, and I am now well aware as to why professional painters wear those clear plastic glasses. Paint splatters everywhere!! By the end I looked like a mythological creature with tiny white dots embedded in her skin, LOL. Saturday morning, after letting the room dry over night we gave it a few finishing touches, and by late afternoon moved things back in. As a treat for all that work, we had home made pizza for dinner made with whole grain flour. DELISH!

Here are some photos of the work and the treat!

IMG_1458

IMG_1463

As far as work is concerned, my student called Saturday morning apologizing for having to cancel the session because he was unable to leave university this weekend. A bit of a bummer, as I was hopping to squeeze in a session before my trip. But speaking of my trip … I am so excited to be going back to England for a few days to visit my friends. It’s been over a year since I finished my study abroad experience and seen everyone. Since I am currently in Italy it is a perfect time to stop by and say “Hi”. I will be leaving Thursday afternoon and remaining until Tuesday. Cannot wait to see them all. After my 5 days in London, I’ll be stopping in Northern Italy to visit some other family members, and finally getting to meet my 2 baby cousins!! Stay tuned for posts all about my trip, including a “Packing For London” post where I’ll be discussing my packing strategy. And if you want to get some “day-to-day” updates on my trip you can follow me on Twitter @AbsolutelyNancy and/or my Tumblr blog ThatGirlTraveler.tumblr.com. I will try to post regularly on both those platforms, but your best bet is probably Twitter :p

Talk to you all soon!!

XOXO

Leave a Reply

